The Happy Holidays

I survived my first Christmas sales rush! And it was AMAZING! The hours were plenty, the lessons I learned were priceless, and I enjoyed every minute. I think back over it and I can’t wait until next year to do it all over again – but better, of course 😉

Most of my crocheting was spent on custom orders. I love custom orders. For me, creating a custom piece feels as though I am helping to bring out the best in a person’s expression of their style. You feel better when you are wearing what you like and what makes you feel most comfortable with yourself. Even the gifter, selecting the color and item, chooses it for the recipient with a specific reason in mind. I found my customers choosing the fabric, color and design to compliment the recipient or their relationship.

My most popular item this holiday season was the Chunky Twist Cowl . It made me so happy to see my first product develop such a high demand. Orders came with color selections for colors I never expected would be so rich and striking.

 Black and Cilantro

I’ll have to think long and hard about what I can do to improve on this item for next season. It’s such a timeless piece so I may just have to create something additional and keep the original. There’s nothing like a faithful, tried and true piece of style.

Although, this holiday season was busy, I am grateful. It helped to hold my depression at bay. I was so focused on completing my orders that my mind couldn’t focus on the weight of my illness. I had to fight hard and I won. I was so busy that I didn’t think much about the gifts for my own children. Their dad took care of their Christmas list, so I knew that part was handled. I always like to get something special that they won’t expect. In the end, both of them were extremely happy with what they received (even if I had to purchase one online Christmas morning while they slept, because I kept putting it off…)

Here I am one of the most fun events I attended the 2nd Annual Holiday Bazaar at the Reggie Lewis Center, in Roxbury, MA. I had less than an hour of sleep but you wouldn’t know it.  Excitement can work wonders! 🙂

holiday bazaar

I learned so much this holiday season. I realized how blessed I am for my gift, my children, my family and my friends. Crochet is so beneficial to my life and not just a business opportunity. I would still crochet even if no profit was involved. I mean that’s what I did up through 2013. I do it for the joy it brings to others and for the peace it brings to me. The uptick in 2014 has simply unlocked the creativity in my mind that I never knew existed. I would have never thought that at age 40, I could be doing something completely different with my life. But that is sometimes how a blessing will present itself.

What wonderful things did you uncover this holiday season? Did you learn something new? Start something? Renew something? Remove something? Enjoy something new? Enjoy something old? Uncover a new blessing? Remove a roadblock? Share your thoughts in the comments. I’d love to hear what joyous things are being realized.

Leave a Reply

